Kofta! 吃不膩的中東味兒

16 Jul

So I had my first food cart experience in Portland. Two years since the day I moved here, I finally stood in front of one of these citywide vehicles; got cash ready looking forward to my night snack.


For those of you who wonders what’s in Portland, here is a guide from Time magazine. Portland: 10 Things to Do.(十個不可錯過的波特蘭景點) I just got my last item checked. Mission accomplished!

After a glass of wine (or two) at the Blues Festival, I gobbled down my Gyro lamb meat with yogurt sauce, carrots, lettuce, tomatoes, and red onion. And then hopped onto metro at midnight with a satisfied belly.

Yes, Gyro, one of our favorites. It is not a surprise that it made my first food cart experience. We LOVE middle eastern food. Back to the time I lived in Pasadena, CA, my husband (was then my boy friend) discovered a middle eastern joint near my apartment. Since then I was hooked by Gyro, falafel, baba ganoush, tabbouleh, humus, and all those. In Santa Barbara, we yelped a terrific middle eastern place and got ourselves too full to walk. In Portland, We always choose middle eastern over others when we get hungry at Farmer’s Markets. If we were to sit down at a table for a feast, here are our 2 favorites: one in downtown Portland called Al-Amir, the other in Beaverton called Gyro House. My taste buds and tommy feel happy after having their fresh ingredients seasoned well with spices.

There is one thing I don’t order at both restaurants: kofta. Why? Because my husband makes delicious kofta. I’ve tried ordered outside and always like homemade ones better. I might be biased. But his band and friends asked for more when he made them kofta for dinners.

Miya’s Favorite Kofta

宮城島家的中東口味肉丸
Recipe adapted from Jerusalem: A cookbook.

Ingredients:grass fed ground beef, a whole egg, garlic, onion, ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg, cumin, sea salt, pepper (He experiments with new ingredients based on what we have on hands. He added scallions this time.)

Side: sauteed asparagus with portobello mushroom

One down. Get another one. And……one more.

These are not authentic. But they’re the best.

We will be on our 8 Track Relay this weekend. I shiver a little while typing these words.

2 Responses to “Kofta! 吃不膩的中東味兒”

  1. gracegothealthy July 17, 2013 at 7:50 am #

    New reader here! Wow those kofta’s look amazing. I love middle eastern food also. Delish. I love trying new things also. Gotta keep a variety up! I am going to try to recreate those kofta’s for sure!

    • Yen-Ning July 17, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

      Thank you Grace! Let me know if you like them. The original recipe has pine nuts in it, which we would definitely try next time!

Leave a Reply

